New Album from SPAH Convention Headliner Jason Ricci

New Album from SPAH Convention Headliner Jason Ricci

Harmonica Master Jason Ricci and The Bad Kind Get Behind the Veil on Debut Gulf Coast Records Album Coming September 29th

Mark Pucci Media


August 1, 2023




Contact: Mark Pucci (770) 804-9555 /

NEDERLAND, TX – Gulf Coast Records announces a September 29th release date for Behind the Veil, the solo label debut from New Orleans-based harmonica master Jason Ricci and his band, The Bad Kind. Gulf Coast will release the album’s first single, “5-10-15,” (which features keyboardist Joe Krown) on August 11; followed by “St James Infirmary” on August 25; and “Why Don’t We Sleep on It” (also with Joe Krown), on September 15.


Behind the Veil was produced by Jason Ricci and Tony Daigle and recorded at Dockside Studio, Maurice, Louisiana.  The band is Jason Ricci – diatonic and chord harmonica, vocals, and backup vocals; Ricci’s wife Kaitlin Dibble – vocals and backup vocals; Brent Johnson – guitar and backup vocals; Jack Joshua – double bass, electric bass, vocals, and backup vocals; and John Perkins – drums and backup vocals. Special guests include Joe Krown – piano and Hammond B3 organ (tracks 2, 8, 12); Gulf Coast labelmate Joanna Connor – guitar (track 10) and Lauren Mitchell – backup vocals.


Jason Ricci talks about each of the singles:

“5-10-15” – “This was actually the song that made me want to record this CD. Singer Kaitlin Dibble has been singing this number for a few years and the wheels in my mind started turning on how to capture it the way I heard so many tunes I on Bob Murret’s WWOZ show. I love the New Orleans R&B feel and I really think we captured it here thanks to Tony Daigle, Kid Andersen and the band, of course. The whole reason we recorded this CD live in one room was centered around this number.”


“St James Infirmary” – “This old standard is almost the ‘Mustang Sally’ of New Orleans music so if I didn’t think we had something really special here I would have never let it on stage – much more this record.”


“Why Don’t We Sleep On It” – “Kate and I were having a rare argument and the band was in need of some more music. So I sat down to write a tune about how much better I would be doing without her and then kept hearing her voice or my own telling me the truth or her side… So I wrote both our parts; she loved it; we made up and had this fun duet. “

Jason Ricci is represented by Steele Management and booked by The Ketch Agency.

Behind the Veil Track Listing


  1. Casco Bay – Jason Ricci
  2. 5 -10 -15 – Rudy Toombs
  3. Baked Potato – Jason Ricci / Stachurski Shawn Dustin
  4. Cirque du Soleil – Jack Joshua
  5. Wrong Kind of Easy / Nobody But You – Kaitlin Dibble (Wrong Kind Of Easy) – Walter Spriggs (Nobody But You)
  6. Ain’t She Fine – Bobby Rush
  7. St. James Infirmary – Irving Mills / Don Redman
  8. Why Don’t We Sleep On It – Jason Ricci (Lyrics & Music) / Brent Johnson (Music)
  9. Terrors Of Nightlife – Dax Riggs
  10.  No Way – Kaitlin Dibble
  11.  Shipwreck – Jeff Turmes
  12.  Hip Hug-Her – Booker T. & The M.G.’s. (Steve Cropper, Donald “Duck” Dunn, Al Jackson Jr., Booker T. Jones)


Jason Ricci Tour Dates


8/15-8/17            SPAH Convention             St. Louis, MO – Jason Ricci and The Bad Kind

8/18                     The Washington               Burlington, IA – Jason Ricci and The Bad Kind

8/19                      Rosa’s Lounge                   Chicago, IL – Jason Ricci and The Bad Kind

and more!